Congratulations! You’re going to marry the love of your life! Amidst the excitement of your engagement, you realize that there are still a ton of decisions to make… Even if you don’t want a big, elaborate wedding, you still have some planning to do.
Do you want a small, intimate gathering? Do you want to plan an elopement? And, most importantly, how do you get a marriage license in Colorado? Let’s take a look!
It’s important to know what is required of you and your partner before you apply for a marriage license.
The marriage license laws in Colorado explain that you have to be of a certain age to get married. If both of you are over the age of 18, you have nothing to worry about. Just bring the proper identification and you can apply.
If you (or your partner) are between 16 and 17 years old, you have to have the approval of the juvenile court. The court system has to determine that getting married is in the underage party’s best interest. Marriage of individuals under 16 years old is prohibited in Colorado.
Neither applicant can get a legal marriage to someone if they are already married. You have to get a divorce in order to get married again.
If you are divorced, you will have to provide proof of the divorce including the when, the where, and the how. What day did you get your divorce? Which state did you get your divorce in? What type of court annulled your marriage? You should be able to find all of these things in your divorce decree.
If you are a widow, you will have to provide supporting documentation that proves when and where your previous spouse died before you can marry another person.
Lastly, you can not use an application from another state to get married in Colorado. However, you can use an application from any Colorado county if you return to that specific county to file the paperwork.
You can apply for a marriage license up to 35 days before your wedding day. Once you have the marriage license in your possession, you can use it. If you wait too long, you will have to reapply.
To get the marriage license, you must go to a Colorado County Clerk and Record Office to get the necessary paperwork. You may have to make an appointment to be seen in the office.
If one applicant cannot be there in person, the other will have to bring a completed Marriage License Absentee Affidavit and a copy of the absent applicant’s identification.
Each in-person applicant must bring a valid form of identification and $30 to cover the marriage license cost. Check with your local county clerk to determine which forms of ID are acceptable and which are not.
Once you have your marriage license in Colorado, you can get married! Planning to elope? I’ve got you covered! Planning a small, intimate gathering? I can help you make that happen too!
Fill out my contact form today for more information. I can’t wait to be a part of your special day!
A couple and their favorite people celebrated they union in Westcliffe! The rain didn’t stop a thing–one of the most beautiful, love-filled weddings I’ve photographed. I had a smile on my face the entire day.
Brit & James met while students at USAFA! When they were planning their wedding, they knew they wanted to keep it intimate and to party all week long with their friends and family! Whispering River Ranch was the perfect place for all of them to stay for the week, the best basecamp while they explored […]